This House

Now that I’ve been at home a lot more lately, this house is kind of driving me crazy. I can rattle off a list of things that bug me about this house. So I decided to tell you about this house, and tell you the things I like about it.

Trevor bought this house eleven years ago in 2002 when he was a 24-year-old bachelor wanting to make a good investment. He lived here with one of his cousins and a friend to start out, and a few people came and went. It was a bachelor pad with all dirty white walls and dirty old lady curtains until I changed that when we got married in 2005. It’s just over 1000 square feet, and next year it will turn 100 years old. Trevor did not think he would ever be living here with a wife, and especially not with a family. We’ve put money into this house, mostly maintenance, and due to the economy, our house is also worth less than when Trevor bought it. Right now, we’re stuck.

I love that I “re-met” Trevor at this house when I came here for a party. I love that he asked for my number here, and that I met a lot of his friends for the first time here. I love that we had an impromptu engagement party with friends here. We’ve had many birthday parties here. We have celebrated some holidays here. This is Serena’s first home.

I love that this house has character- coved ceilings, wood floors, lots of windows. I like that we have some storage space in the basement and a large garage.

I like that the baby can have her room in the middle of the house and it’s so convenient no matter where in the house you are to go check on her, or grab something from the room, or go in there to change her diaper.

I like that I have done some gardening here (even though it’s a mess now.) I’ve learned a lot more than I knew about it before I lived here.

I like that we are surrounded by diversity here, even just in the few homes on this corner. I like that we have some great neighbors just a few steps away looking out for us. I like that a few of the homes right by us are being updated and flipped. I like that we are only a few blocks from the parkway, close to downtown, not very far from much of anything.

I am thankful we have a home of our own, that keeps us warm in the winter, and that has air conditioning on a hot day like today where it is 95 degrees/feels like over 100!

Leave a Reply

