On Summer and 365: August

Yesterday, September began! To me, it is still summer. I hear so many people keep talking about the Fall, but I don’t see it yet. Around here it has been a long Summer because we had an early Spring, and we’ve had a lot of hot hot days. People are ready for cooler weather. Don’t get me wrong, I love the Fall. Autumn is my favorite season of the year. I love the changing leaves on the trees, the sweaters, bonfires, dinner in the crockpot, tea, and everything else that goes along with it. This year has just seemed to fly by too fast. The summer has been full of spontaneous visitors and guests, time with family and friends, bike rides, lakes, sunshine, gardening. It’s just been so nice and happy and full. I’ve really enjoyed having a summer without every weekend planned out at the beginning. I loved getting e-mails from friends who were planning to be in Minneapolis in a week or two and being able to say, “Come stay with us!” I also loved the text messages from cousins asking if they could crash at our place in a day or two while they were in town for a Twins game or whatever else was up.

Documenting my days with Project 365 has really given me a different perspective on my days. I am always looking for something different to do, or looking at the everyday things with a different eye. I’ve enjoyed this part of the adventure so far, all in the warm months we’ve had, and being able to get a lot of shots outside, especially of all the growing and living things around. I’m currently at 43% of the 365 days. Sometimes I wonder if it will be a challenge when the weather starts to get cooler and I am inside more than outside. I guess I’ll have to get more creative!

I love when a new month starts and I’ve finished another month of the project. It has been so interesting to look back at the past month of photos and remember the days that have passed and I’ve almost forgotten. It’s fun to see the different places and people and things I’ve seen that are making up my life these days. It really is beautiful. If you’ve ever thought about trying Project 365, I highly recommend it.

365: August

Leave a Reply

