Today I…

After getting very little sleep, I woke up at 6:30AM, got ready, made our lunches, drank some coffee, packed up our backpacks, and was out the door. Trev made us eggs for breakfast and then dropped the dog off at the vet for his comprehensive exam.

We headed over to the school where one of our neighbors works, met our buddies that we were partnered up with, and headed out on a bus full of 4 and 5-year-olds for a trip to the Minnesota Zoo. My new little friend, Katelyn, chatted me up the entire bus ride. She said to me, “If I get lost, just remember this shirt, these pants, these shoes, and this jacket.” I told her she wouldn’t be getting lost. πŸ™‚ She told me she had 6 sisters and 1 brother, that her family used to live in Laos. “You can’t drive to Laos. There’s a big ocean so you have to fly on a plane.” She talked all about her parents businesses, and how when she “gets big” she wants to cook, but her mom told her to be a doctor because then she can make lots of money and buy a house… The Zoo was a fun day, walking in our group with all of us adults holding little hands and answering questions from little voices. By 12:15 the kids were tired. Katelyn said to me, “My feet are broken. They don’t have any more gas.” ! On the bus ride back she poked me and said, “You’re nice to me,” and then a few minutes later fell asleep leaning on me.

After we got back Trev and I ran some errands, got some cheap Smoothie King smoothies with our groupon deal, and then picked up Cash from the vet and picked up some free treats at the PetSmart the pet hospital is connected to. We got home and I made a new recipe for dinner, pasta with garlicky roasted broccoli, and it turned out well. Trev and I just got back from the gym. I am TIRED!

Here are a few shots from today:

3 thoughts on “Today I…

  1. So funny! I want to hang out with Katelyn. She sounds hilarious. My favorite line was about her feet being out of gas.

  2. I don’t know how I missed this post. adorable. katelyn sounds like the perfect buddy for the day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    garlicy broc also sounds super delicious πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

